Ke Au Hou


Ke Au Hou, meaning “A New Era,” represents several major transitions in his career.  Recording for the album began following a 3 year period of intense musical exploration. Under the advice of two of his mentors, Pal Eldredge and Hattie Phillips, he began singing, and taking classical voice lessons first from Catherine Goto at Punahou School and then from Neva Rego. He also began studying Hawaiian language, to deepen his knowledge about the music he was singing, and also to intensively study the music of key renaissance figures in Hawaiian Music. In addition to the Hawaiian musicians he was studying, he also turned his attention outside of Hawai‘i to study various other genres of music including latin, classical, folk, reggae, pop, and hip-hop.

Finally, ready to apply what he had learned, he began recording again in 2011. His new creative process utilized a small band to create intricate and collaborative arrangements. As recording resumed for the album, Danny donned a larger role than ever before in the creation of his music, acting as the lead artist, arranger, and producer. The album includes 11 songs, 7 of which are vocal, and The album features fresh new arrangements of Hawaiian classics, original slack key compositions, and guest appearances by Jon and Jamaica Osorio.

Released: December 2013


Track List

1. Ka‘aumoana
2. Nā Aliʻi
3. Hula O Makee
4. Ka Māmakakaua
5. Ka ʻŌiwi Nani
6. Girl From Ipanema
7. Heʻeia
8. Ka Ipo Lei Manu
9. Pandanus
10. Kuʻu Lei Kuʻu Ipo
11. Nisei


All Albums